Mono Bar
Main page content

Center for Mental Health Services


The Center for Mental Health Services leads federal efforts to promote the prevention and treatment of mental disorders. Congress created CMHS to bring new hope to adults who have serious mental illness and children with serious emotional disturbances.

The Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS):

  • Strengthens the Nation's mental health system by helping states improve and increase the quality and range of their treatment, rehabilitation, and support
  • Makes it easier for people to access mental health programs
  • Encourages a range of programs such as systems of care to respond to the increasing number of mental, emotional, and behavioral problems among America's children
  • Supports outreach and case management programs for the thousands of Americans who are homeless and the improvement of these services
  • Ensures that scientifically-established findings and practice-based knowledge are applied in preventing and treating mental disorders

Contact Information

Center for Mental Health Services
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
Contact SAMHSA


Office of the Director

Anita Everett, M.D., DFAPA, Director

Tison Thomas, Deputy Director

Billina Shaw, M.D., M.P.H., FAPA, Senior Medical Advisor

Nima Sheth, M.D., M.P.H., Senior Medical Advisor

Michelle Kim Leff, M.D., MBA, Senior Medical Advisor

Office of Program Analysis and Coordination (OPAC)

Michelle Bechard, Director

Eric Lulow, Supervisory Public Health Advisor, Quality Improvement Team

CDR Sean Allain, Supervisory Public Health Advisor, Operations Team

Office of Technical Assistance and Coordination (OTAC)

Karen Gentile, Director

Division of Trauma and Disaster Behavioral Health (DTDBH)

CAPT Maryann Robinson, Director

Disaster Behavioral Health Branch (DBHB)

Alisa Santucci, Chief

Traumatic Stress Branch (TSB)

Raphaelle Richardson, Chief

Division of Children and School Mental Health (DCSMH)

Nancy Kelly, Director

Child, Adolescent and Family Branch (CAFB)

Emily Lichvar, Chief

Mental Health Promotion Branch (MHPB)

Shane Grant, Chief

Division of State and Community Systems Development (DSCSD)

Susan Marsiglia Gray, Director

State and Homeless Programs Branch (SHPB)

Doug Slothouber, Chief

State and Consumer Protection Branch (SCPB)

Eric Weakly, Chief

Division of Community Behavioral Health (DCBH)

David de Voursney, Director

Comprehensive Services and Systems Branch (CSSB)

David de Voursney, Acting Chief

Comprehensive Services and Integration Branch (CSIB)

CDR Nicole Pascua, Chief

Division of Suicide Prevention and Community Supports (DSPCS)

CAPT David Barry, Director

Suicide Prevention Branch (SPB)

Brandon Johnson, Chief

Community Support Programs Branch (CSPB)

CDR Mary-Katherine Hager, Chief

Last Updated
Last Updated: 04/24/2024
Last Updated