Mono Bar
Main page content
Title

Substance Use Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery Services Block Grant (SUBG) Contacts

Body

Select a state or territory:

Alabama

Nicole Walden
Associate Commissioner
Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Alabama Department of Mental Health
RSA Union Building
P.O. Box 301410
Montgomery, AL 36130-1410
Phone: (334) 242-3642
Email: nicole.walden@mh.alabama.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
100 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36104-1410

Alaska

Tracy Dompeling
Director
Division of Behavioral Health (DBH) in Alaska Department of Health
P.O. Box 110620
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: (907) 465-2817
Email: tracy.dompeling@alaska.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
350 Main St.
Juneau, AK 99801

American Samoa

Motusa Tuilema Nua (SSA)
Director
Department of Health
P.O. Box 5666
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: (684) 633-4606
Email: tuinua@doh.as
Note: Express Mail Address
Centennial Office Building,
997534 Utulei Street, Suite 301
Pago Pago, AS 96799

Arizona

Alisa Randall, M. Ed. (Ms.)
Assistant Director
Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System
801 East Jefferson
MD4100
Phoenix, AZ 85034
Phone: (602) 417-4794
Email: alisa.randall@azahcccs.gov

Brooke Brunell
Executive Assistant
Phone: (602) 417-4240
Email: brooke.brunell@azahcccs.gov

Arkansas

Jennifer Shuler
Assistant Director
Substance Abuse Treatment and Recovery Services
Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Arkansas Department of Human Services
Phone: (501) 534-4018
Email: jennifer.shuler@dhs.arkansas.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
700 Main Street
Little Rock, AR 72201

Back to top

California

Marlies Perez, M.A.
Division Chief
California Department of Health Care Services
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4000
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413
Phone: (916) 345-7462
Email: marlies.perez@dhcs.ca.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 0000
Sacramento, CA 95814-5005

Colorado

Dannette Smith
Commissioner
Behavioral Health Administration
Colorado Department of Human Services
710 S. Ash Street Unit C140
Denver, CO 80246
Phone: 303-263-8849
Email: dannette.smith@state.co.us

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Esther Lizama Muña, Ph.D., M.H.A., FACHE
Chief Executive Officer
State/Territorial Public Health Official
Community Guidance Center
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
P.O. Box 500409, Gloria Drive
Saipan, MP 96950-0409
Phone: (670) 236-8201
Email: esther.muna@chcc.health
Note: Express Mail Address
Navy Hill Road
Saipan, MP 96950

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Carmen Bonet-Vázquez
Administrator
Mental Health and Anti-Addiction Services Administration of Puerto Rico
P.O. Box 607087
Bayamón, PR 00960-7087
Phone: (787) 764-3670
Email: carmen.bonet@assmca.pr.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
Carr #2 KM 8.2 Bo. Juan Sánchez
Bayamón, PR 00959

Connecticut

Nancy Navarretta, M.A., LPC, NCC
Commissioner
Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
P.O. Box 341431
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: (860) 418-6952 / Admin Support: (860) 418-6959
Email: nancy.navarretta@ct.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
410 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06134

Back to top

Delaware

Joanna Champney, M.A.
Director
Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Delaware Health & Social Services
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720
Phone: (302) 255-9657
Email: joanna.champney@delaware.gov

District of Columbia

Barbara J. Bazron, Ph.D.
Director
District of Columbia Department of Behavioral Health
64 New York Avenue NE, 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 671-3180
Email: barbara.bazron@dc.gov

Federated States of Micronesia

Marcus Samoa
Single State Authority
Department of Health and Social Affairs
P.O. Box PS 70
Palikir, Pohnpei FSM 96941
Phone: (691) 320-2619
Email: msamo@fsmhealth.fm
Note: Send without P.O. Box No. for overnight

Florida

Christi Anderson (SSA)
Director of Innovation and Planning
Florida Department of Children and Families
2415 North Monroe Street, Suite 400
Tallahassee, FL 32303-4190
Phone: (850) 717-4621
Email: christi.anderson@myflfamilies.com

Georgia

Kevin Tanner
Commissioner
Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities
2 Peachtree Street, Northwest, 24th floor
Atlanta, GA 30303-3141
Phone: (404) 463-7945
Email: kevin.tanner1@dbhdd.ga.gov

Back to top

Guam

Theresa C. Arriola, M.B.A.
Director
Guam Behavioral Health and Wellness Center
790 Governor Carlos G. Camacho Road
Tamuning, GU 96913
Phone: (671) 647-5330
Email: theresa.arriola@gbhwc.guam.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
790 Governor Carlos G. Camacho Road
Tamuning, GU 96913

Hawaii

John A. Valera, AICP
Administrator
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division
Department of Health, Behavioral Health Administration
Kakuhhewa Building
601 Kamokila Boulevard, Room 360
Kapolei, HI 96707
Phone: (808) 692-7529
Email: john.valera@doh.hawaii.gov

Idaho

Rosie Y. Andueza
Manager, Operations Program
Division of Behavioral Health
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
P.O. Box 83720/3rd
Boise, ID 83720-0036
Phone: (208) 334-5934
Email: anduezar@dhw.idaho.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
450 W. State Street
Cenarrusa Building, 3rd Floor
Boise, ID 83702-6056

Illinois

Laura Garcia, MAAPS
Director
Division of Substance Use Prevention and Recovery
Illinois Department of Human Services
401 South Clinton Street, 2nd Floor
Chicago, IL 60607
Phone: (312) 814-2300
Email: laura.garcia@Illinois.gov, david.jones@illinois.gov
Assistant: brian.pacwa@illinois.gov

Indiana

Jay Chaudhary, J.D.
Director
Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
Indiana Government Building
402 West Washington Street, Room W-353
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2739
Phone: (317) 232-4690
Email: jay.chaudhary@fssa.in.gov

Back to top

Iowa

DeAnn Decker
Single State Authority
Division of Behavioral Health
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building, 4th Floor
321 East 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Phone: (515) 281-0928
Email: deann.decker@idph.iowa.gov

Kansas

Drew Adkins
Assistant Commissioner of Behavioral Health Services
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS)
503 S. Kansas Avenue
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 471-8298
Email: drew.adkins@ks.gov

Kentucky

Brittney Allen
Director
Substance Use Disorder Division
Department of Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities
Cabinet for Health and Family Services
275 East Main Street 4W-G
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 782-6740
Email: brittney.allen@ky.gov

Louisiana

Quinetta Womack, LPC, LAC-CCS, CCGC
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Office of Behavioral Health
Louisiana Department of Health
628 North 4th Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: (225) 342-8952
Email: quinetta.womack@la.gov

Maine

Sarah Squirrel, M.S.
Acting Director
Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Maine Department of Health and Human Services
11 State House Station
41 Anthony Avenue
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Phone: (207) 592-6406
Email: sarah.squirrell@maine.gov

Back to top

Maryland

Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., M.P.H.
Secretary
Maryland Department of Health
201 W. Preston Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (410) 767-5807
Email: laura.herrerascott@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

Deirdre Calvert
Commissioner
Massachusetts Department of Mental Health
250 Washington Street, 3rd Floor
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 624-5150
Mobile: (617) 875-2491
Email: deirdre.c.calvert@mass.gov

Michigan

Belinda Hawks
Interim SSA, Division Director
Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
400 S. Pine, 6th floor
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: (517) 256-7522
Fax: (517) 241-2969
Email: hawksb@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Eric I. Grumdahl
Assistant Commissioner - Behavioral Health, Housing and Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services Administration
Minnesota Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 64988
St. Paul, MN 55164-0988
Phone: (651) 431-6408
Email: eric.grumdahl@state.mn.us
Email: Assistant, Kristen Joseph, kristen.joseph@state.mn.us
Note: Express Mail Address
540 Cedar Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155

Mississippi

Wendy Bailey
Executive Director
Mississippi Department of Mental Health
239 North Lamar Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Phone: (601) 359-1288
Email: wendy.bailey@dmh.ms.gov

Back to top

Missouri

Nora Bock
Division Director
Missouri Department of Mental Health
1706 E. Elm Street
P.O. Box 687
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0687
Phone: (573) 751-9499
Email: nora.bock@dmh.mo.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1706 E. Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0687

Montana

Jami Hansen
SSA
Block Grant Supervisor
Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services
P.O. Box 202905
Helena, MT 59620-2905
Phone: (406) 444-3055
Email: jami.hansen@mt.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
100 North Park Avenue, Suite 300
Helena, MT 59620-2905

Nebraska

Tony Green
Interim Director
Division of Behavioral Health
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
P.O. Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026
Phone: (402) 471-6038
Email: tony.green@nebraska.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
301 Centennial Mall South, 4th Floor
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026

Nevada

Cody Phinney, M.P.H.
Administrator
Division of Public and Behavioral Health
4150 Technology Way, Suite 300
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 742-9963
Email: c.phinney@health.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Jill Burke, M.P.A.
Bureau, Acting Director
Bureau of Mental Health Services
Bureau of Drug & Alcohol Services
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
105 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-6112
Fax: (603) 271-6105
Email: jill.burke@dhhs.nh.gov

Back to top

New Jersey

Renee C. Burawski
Acting Assistant Commissioner
Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services
NJ Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 362
Trenton, NJ 08625-0362
Phone: 609-438-4352
Email: renee.burawski@dhs.nj.gov

New Mexico

Nick Boukas
BHSD Director
New Mexico Human Services Department
P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348
Phone: (505) 538-0121
Email: nick.boukas@hsd.nm.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
37 Plaza La Prensa
Santa Fe, NM 87505

New York

Chinazo Cunningham, M.D.
Commissioner
New York State Office of Addiction Services and Supports
1450 Western Avenue
Albany, NY 12203-3526
Phone: (518) 457-1758
Email: commissioner@oasas.ny.gov

North Carolina

Kelly Crosbie
Director
DMHDDSUS
3001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3001
Phone: (984) 239-0657
Email: kelly.crosbie@dhhs.nc.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
306 N. Wilmington Street, Bath Building
Raleigh, NC 27601

North Dakota

Pamela Sagness
Executive Director
North Dakota Department of Human Services - Behavioral Health
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: (701) 328-8824
Email: psagness@nd.gov

Back to top

Ohio

LeeAnne Cornyn
Director
Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
30 East Broad Street, 36th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: (614) 466-2337
Email: leeanne.cornyn@mha.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Allie Friesen, MRC, NCC, LPC, CRC
CBIS Commissioner
Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
2000 North Classen Boulevard, Suite 600
Oklahoma City, OK 73106
Phone: (405) 248-9201
Email: allie.friesen@odmhsas.org

Oregon

Ebony Clarke
Behavioral Health Director
Oregon Health Authority
Health Systems Division
500 Summer Street, NE E65
Salem, OR 97301-1118
Phone: (503) 947-5539
Email: ebony.s.clarke@dhsoha.oregon.gov

Pennsylvania

Latika Davis-Jones, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S.W.
Secretary
Pennsylvania Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs
2601 North 3rd Street
One Penn Center, 5th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone: (717) 783-8200
Email: ladavisjon@pa.gov

Mary Jones
Executive Assistant
Phone: tel:(717) 214-1937
Email: mjones1@pa.gov

Red Band Lake of Chippewa Indians

Darrell Seki, Sr.
Chief
Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians
Highway #1
P.O. Box 574
Red Lake, MN 56671
Phone: (218) 679-3341
Email: dseki@redlakenation.org
Note: Express Mail Address
15797 Main Avenue.
Red Lake, MN 56671

Back to top

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Mailynn Konelios-Langinlur
Deputy Secretary
SSA Ministry of Finance
Banking & Postal Services
P.O. Box 16
Majuro, MH 96960
Phone: (692) 455-0263
Email: mailynnlang@gmail.com

Kalani M. Nll
Acting SSA Director
Republic of the Marshall Islands Ministry of Health
Capital Building, 2nd Floor
Amata Kabua Avenue
P.O. Box 16
Majuro, MH 96960
Phone: (011) (692) 455-625-6976
Email: jinje2202@gmail.com
Note: No street address, send regular mail

Republic of Palau

Gaafar J. Uherbelau
Minister of Health and Human Services
Ministry of Health
Division of Behavioral Health and Ministry of Health
One Hospital Road
P.O. Box 6027
Koror, Palau
PW, UM 96940
Phone: (680) 488-4573
Email: gaafar.uherbelau@palauhealth.org
Note: No street address, send regular mail

Rhode Island

Richard Leclerc
Director
Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Healthcare
Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals (BHDDH)
14 Harrington Road
Cranston, RI 02920
Phone: (401) 462-2339
Email: rich.leclerc@bhddh.ri.gov

South Carolina

Sara Goldsby, M.S.W., M.P.H.
Director
South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services
P.O. Box 8268
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 896-8371/(803) 896-4061
Email: sgoldsby@daodas.sc.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1801 Main Street, 4th Floor
Columbia, SC 29201

South Dakota

Tiffany Wolfgang
Interim Director
South Dakota Department of Social Services
Kneip Building c/o 700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 367-5236, ex 1105078, (800) 265-9684
Email: tiffany.wolfgang@state.sd.us
Note: Express Mail Address
3900 W. Technology Circle, Suite 1
Sioux Falls, SD 57106

Back to top

Tennessee

Marie Williams, LCSW
Commissioner
Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Andrew Jackson Building
500 Deaderick Street, 6th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 253-3049,(615) 532-6500
Email: marie.williams@tn.gov

Kris Jernigan
Executive Assistant to the Commissioner
Phone: (615) 770-0468
Email: kristosser.a.jernnighan@tn.gov

Texas

Trina K. Ita
Deputy Executive Commissioner
Behavioral Health Services
Chief Program and Services
Texas Health and Human Services Commission
4601 West Guadalupe
Austin, TX 78751
Email: trina.ita@hhs.texas.gov, SSA@hhs.texas.gov

United States Virgin Islands

Justa Encarnacion, RN, M.B.A./HCM, BSN
Commissioner
Behavioral Health Systems
Virgin Islands Department of Health
3500 Estate Richmond
St. Croix, USVI 00820
Phone: (340) 718-1311
Email: justa.encarnacion@doh.vi.gov
Administrative Assistant Email: sadia.ali@doh.vi.gov
Executive Assistant Email: louise.baa@doh.vi.gov

Utah

Eric Tadehara
Assistant Director
Office of Substance Use and Mental Health
Utah Department of Health and Human Services
288 N 1460 W, Third Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone: (801) 669-0895
Email: erictadehara@utah.gov

Vermont

Emily Trutor
Division Director
Department of Health, Division of Substance Use Programs
P.O. Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402-0070
Phone: (802) 651-1550
Email: emily.trutor@vermont.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
108 Cherry Street, Suite 207
Burlington, VT 05401

Back to top

Virginia

Ellen Harrison, Ph.D.
Chief Deputy Commissioner
Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
P.O. Box 1797
Richmond, VA 23219-1797
Phone: (804) 625-1273
Fax: (804) 786-9248
Email: ellen.harrison@dbhds.virginia.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
1220 Bank Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Washington

Michael Langer
Deputy Division Director
Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery
Washington Healthcare Authority
P.O. Box 42730
Olympia, WA 98504-5330
Phone: (360) 725-9821
Email: michael.langer@hca.wa.gov
Note: Express Mail Address
626 8th Avenue SE
Olympia, WA 98501

West Virginia

Elliott Birckhead
Deputy Commissioner
West Virginia Department of Health and Human Services
350 Capitol Street, Room 350
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: (304) 352-5558
Email: elliott.h.birckhead@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Teresa Steinmetz
Director
Bureau of Prevention Treatment and Recovery
Division of Care and Treatment Services
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room 850
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 266-2861
Email: teresaj.steinmetz@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

Stefan Johansson
Single State Authority (SSA)
Wyoming Department of Health
2300 Capitol Avenue
401 Hathaway Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Email: stefan.johansson@wyo.gov

Matt Petry, M.P.A.
(SSA designated SABG contact)
Senior Administrator, Behavioral Health Division
Wyoming Department of Health
122 W. 25th Street
Herschler Building 2W, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-8763
Email: matt.petry1@wyo.gov

Back to top

*To update information on this page, please send an email request to webmaster@samhsa.hhs.gov.

Last Updated
Last Updated: 05/08/2024
Last Updated